Category Archives: Sports

Women’s basketball wins one of two in Saints Halo Classic

The women’s basketball team lost to Oklahoma City University (OCU) 93-85 on Saturday. On Friday, the Saints defeated Oklahoma Panhandle University 94-65. During that game, Lena Wilson scored her 1,000th point to be OLLU’s eighth female and 14 overall member of the Saints 1,000-Point Club. The Saints are now fall to 3-4 on the season. Their next game will be this Thursday in Dallas against Paul Quinn College.

CHRISTUS Santa Rosa announces partnership with OLLU Athletics

CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Health System and OLLU teamed up for a special announcement on Friday. CHRISTUS Santa Rosa announced its partnership with OLLU, making the health system the “Official Partner of OLLU Athletics.” Under the agreement, CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Health System will provide professional, licensed athletic trainers for weekly clinics and during game day, led by the CHRISTUS Santa Rosa Orthopedics and Sports Medicine team. They will also provide medical service and funds to purchase state-of-the-art equipment.

Women’s basketball loses to Wayland Baptist

The women’s basketball team lost to Wayland Baptist University (WBU) 87-79 on Friday. The Saints drop to 2-1 on the season and the Flying Queens improve to 2-1. The Saints are the No. 6 team in the NAIA, while Wayland is No. 5. In the NAIA tournament last season, the Saints ended the Flying Queens season in the Round of Eight to advance to the Fab FourThis is the eighth matchup between the two teams and the series is tied 4-4.

Men’s basketball defeats Southern

The men’s basketball team took down Southern University at New Orleans (SUNO) 81-69 during their first home game of the season on Nov. 14. The Saints improve to 2-3 this season, and the Knights remain winless at 0-6. This is the second matchup against the Knights, and SUNO won the only game 93-85 last season.

Both cross-country teams win fifth conference championship

The women’s and men’s cross-country teams captured the Red River Athletic Conference (RRAC) Championships on Saturday.

This is the fifth conference title for both teams. Lindsey Broussard and Nathaniel Rodriguez won the individual medals.

Head Coach Stephen Sherman said, “We have had years in the past where emotions are torn between one group doing well while the other group did not do so well. There are no torn emotions with the result of this meet. The women dominated, and then the men followed suit and dominated as well. There is not much more I could have asked of them.”

Volleyball sweeps Texas College for Seniors’ Night

The volleyball team swept Texas College (TC) 3-0 on Friday. The Saints finish the regular season 17-6 overall and 8-4 in Red River Athletic Conference (RRAC) play. OLLU honored seniors Natalie Fazio and Anyssa Rivera during seniors’ night following the match

The Saints were in control of the match from the start to finish and limited the Steers to 10 or fewer points in every set. OLLU only allowed four points in the first set, which is the fewest an opponent has scored against the Saints all season. The Saints went on to win the second and third set 25-10. The Saints held the Steers to only three kills in the first and second sets. OLLU only committed six errors in the entire match. 

Men’s soccer advances to conference semifinals with win on Friday

The men’s soccer team defeated Texas A&M University-Texarkana (TAMUT) in the first round of the Red River Athletic Conference (RRAC) tournament 2-1. The Saints are seeded third in the tournament and move on to face second-seed LSU-Shreveport (LSUS) on Nov. 7 at 6:30 p.m. in Texarkana, Texas.

Head Coach Shane Hurley commented on the win saying, “It was a good game, it was very disappointing that it got us as heated as it did. In the end it is just a game. It should’ve been treated as a game by everyone.”

Men’s basketball takes a loss on the road

The men’s basketball team lost to Southwestern Assemblies of God University (SAGU) 98-71 on Friday. The Saints drop to 0-2 on the season and the Lions open their season with a win.

Head Coach Chris Dial said, “We played a really tough SAGU team today. They were running on all cylinders and we weren’t. We played short-handed due to injuries and the guys we played gave a good effort. We had shots not fall that we expect to fall going forward. The road trip overall has been a good experience for us and we will continue to learn and get better.”

« Older Entries