Women’s soccer and cross-country made history this past weekend

WSoccerTeamBoth the women’s soccer team and the women’s cross-country team won their first-ever conference championship this past weekend.

The Saints captured the 2013 Red River Athletic Conference Women’s Soccer Tournament crown on Saturday after beating the University of Texas at Brownsville 2-1 in the championship match. The Saints also won the regular season crown. The Saints will advance to the first round of the 30th Annual National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) Women’s Soccer National Championship on Nov. 23. The first-round games will take place at campus sites that will be determined next week. Winners will advance to the championship tournament in Orange Beach, Ala., Dec. 2-7.

Head Coach Arthur Salazar, who was named conference “Coach of the Year,” said, “I am extremely proud of this team. They have been able to persevere through many obstacles to be able to call themselves champions. UTB is a very tough team and our girls had to fight to the very end. Their heart and desire to win are immeasurable.” Read full story online.

Cross-Country TeamThe women’s cross-country team won the Red River Athletic Conference Championship Meet on Friday. The Saints overall score was 1:38:06.2. Head Coach Stephen Sherman, who received conference “Coach of the Year,” said, “I could not be more proud of the women. I challenged them more than any since I arrived at OLLU. In fact, I was not always fun to be around, but it’s always because I knew what they were capable of if they went all in. They went all in, and now we have the two best RRAC meet finishes in school history including a women’s championship.” Read full story online.

Conference awards were announced, as well. Stephanie Diaz received soccer’s “Offensive Player of the Year.” Diaz, Amaris Tavares, Victoria Vazquez and Brandy Salazar received First-Team honors. Stephania Vazquez, Brianna Burtone and Alissa Villarreal received Second-Team honors. Alyssa Mora was named to soccer’s Champions of Character Team.

Chosen as cross-country’s Freshman of the Year was Ceara O’Donnell. The All-Conference Team included O’Donnell, Erica Ramos, Laura Echeverria and Alexandria De Luna.