President Emerita inducted into Texas Women’s Hall of Fame

OLLU President Emerita Sister Elizabeth Anne Sueltenfuss, CDP, PhD, has been recognized as a pioneer among Texas women and will be inducted into the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame during a ceremony in January at the Governor’s Mansion.

Sister Sueltenfuss, who passed away in 2009, is among seven Texas women recognized for outstanding achievement and for changing the course of history. As president of OLLU in 1978, Sister Sueltenfuss was one of the first women to head a Texas university. She opened the doors of higher education for first-generation college students, working adults and other underserved communities.

“The Texas Women’s Hall of Fame recognizes and celebrates remarkable Texas women not only for their individual achievements, but also for their contributions to the strength of the Lone Star State, and I am honored to welcome these seven accomplished women as this year’s inductees,” said Governor Greg Abbott.

Other 2018 inductees include Former First Lady Laura Bush, Senator Judith Zaffirini, Susan Dell, Captain Tammie Jo Shults, Vikki Carr and Simone Biles.

Learn more about the Texas Women’s Hall of Fame online.