Keviona Barber named to 2021-2022 NAIA All-America Team

The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 2021-2022 Women’s Basketball All-America Teams. Keviona Barber (SR/Chicago, Ill.) has been selected to the Honorable Mention Team.

Head Coach Jillian Flores Bennett commented, “Keviona is a special player and person. I knew after the first day watching this team play in the gym that she was going to be pivotal in our success. Throughout the season I watched her transform from a very good player to a great player and leader. She worked extremely hard in the offseason to grow her game and that showed this season. She facilitated our offense and also led us defensively in our press. Her IQ is what makes her such a special player. She deserves all of the accolades she has earned this season and I am thankful that I was able to be part of her journey during her final year.”

Barber’s 2021-2022 season included the following stats: 31 games played, 31 games started, 536 points scored for 17.3 ppg., 182-451 FG-FGA for 40.4 percent, 74-244 3FG-FGA for 30.3 percent, 98-127 FT-FTA for 77.2 percent, 109 rebounds for 3.5 rpg., 129 assists for 4.2 apg. and 71 steals for 2.3 spg.

The Red River Athletic Conference (RRAC) selected Barber as the conference’s player of the year and a member of the All-Conference First Team.

Barber, who opted out of the 2020-2021 season due to the COVID-19 pandemic, ends her career with 61 games played, 269-665 FG-FGA for 40.5 percent, 88-297 3FG-FGA for 30 percent, 154-206 FT-FTA for 75 percent, 179 rebounds, 226 assists and 125 steals. She has 780 career points scored.

Barber is the 15th member of the women’s basketball team to be named to the NAIA All-America Team. Others include:

2011-2012 Stacey Darnley – Honorable Mention
2012-2013 Nikkia Davis – Honorable Mention
2012-2013 Nashae Owens – Honorable Mention
2013-2014 Nashae Owens – Honorable Mention
2014-2015 Courtney Bayliss – Second Team
2015-2016 Taylor Hamilton – First Team
2015-2016 Sonji Green – Honorable Mention
2016-2017 Alyssa Ward – Honorable Mention
2017-2018 Quintianna LeShore – First Team
2018-2019 Destinee King – Third Team
2018-2019 Kasey Saldana – Honorable Mention
2018-2019 Lena Wilson – Honorable Mention
2019-2020 Kasey Saldana – Third Team
2019-2020 Dezeree White – Honorable Mention