Student leaders recognized during award ceremony

The university congratulates all student, faculty and staff winners of the 2021-2022 Student Leadership Awards. The ceremony was held April 26 in Chapel Auditorium. Awards and recipients are listed below. To view or download photos from the ceremony, visit the university’s Flickr account.

OLLU Senior Wings Up Achievement Award – Miranda L. Guevara

Center for Women in Church and Society:

Sister Margit Nagy CDP Women’s Empowerment Award – Angelica C. Cuevas

University Ministry:

Leadership in Spirituality and Service Award – Alexa Aaliyah Delgado

Providence Award – Emma Ramos

Archdiocesan Awards:

De Corazon a Corazon – Angelica C. Cuevas

Outstanding Newmanite – Victoria Aguilera, Olivia Garcia and Alexa Aaliyah Delgado

Residence Life:

Program of the Year – CHEERS! Ayala Adams, Antonio Nava and Madelyn Miller

Rookie of the Year – Sharon Landeros

Community Builder of the Year – Skylar Lloyd

Resident Assistant of the Year – Amber Miller

Center for Service Learning and Volunteerism:

Outstanding Service Organization Award – Kappa Delta Chi Sorority, Inc.

President’s Volunteer Service Award – Lydia Hamner

Student Leadership and Development:

Academic Excellence:

  • Chartered Student Organization – Saints Productions Board with an overall GPA of 3.7
  • Special Interest Student Organization – First Generation with an overall GPA of 3.4
  • Academic Student Organization – Law and Politics Society with an overall GPA of 3.7
  • Fraternity and Sorority Life – Kappa Delta Chi Sorority, Inc. with an overall GPA of 3.5

Engaged Advisor Award – Ciji Couvertier

Heart of OLLU – Carol Rownd

Unsung Hero – Gloria Cervantes, Olivia Eagleson, Mia Ortiz and Emily Rodriguez

Bridge Builder – Victoria Aguilera, Stephanie Garcia, Skylar Lloyd and Brandon Puente

Rising Star – Brianna Contreras-Rodriguez, Audrey Vincent, Destiny Arenas, Jaelyn Garza and Andrew Horman

Student Leader Excellence – Christian Chavez, Mizitca Vazquez, Amber Taylor, Rachel Dziuba, Kaylee Talamantes, Nathan Smith, Jessica Garcia and Karina Alanis

New RSO of the Year – Multicultural Alliance for Peace in Society

Innovation Award – First Generation Student Organization for their First Gen Student Celebration

Beacon Award – Worden Social Work Organization

OLLU Achievement – Karina Alanis, Liliana Briseno, Sr. RoseAnn Castilleja, Jessica Garcia, Stephanie Garcia, Miranda Guevara, Marisol Mesa, Mariely Soria and Samantha Vasquez

St. Catherine Medal – Victoria Aguilera