Thirteen students named Charles Butt Scholars

Thirteen new OLLU students have been chosen to receive the prestigious Charles Butt Scholarship for Aspiring Teachers, an award of $8,000 per year for each student who works toward teacher certification.

The Charles Butt Scholarship for Aspiring Teachers – one component of the Raising Texas Teachers initiative – is designed to support promising students to consider a future in the teaching profession.

The 13 new scholars join 13 returning scholars who were selected in previous years. 

“We are excited to congratulate the 2023 cohort of OLLU Charles Butt Scholars,” said Alycia Maurer, PhD, Associate Professor of Education and Education Department Chair. “We look forward to supporting them on their path to teacher certification. And we are confident they will become outstanding teachers.” 

This year’s recipients are: senior Kevin Baker, sophomore Kaitlynn Burket, freshman Nayeli Cordova, sophomore Marissa Escamilla, junior Emma Maltos, senior Caroline Martinez, junior   Richard Martinez, senior Madelyn Miller, junior Zenneth Ortiz, senior Leyla Perales, sophomore Blanca Rodriguez, freshman Lizette Rodriguez and junior Nicholas Salas. .

Every Charles Butt Scholar has committed to teaching in majority economically disadvantaged Texas public schools or in hard-to-fill subject areas, such as math and science, special education or bilingual education. 

In addition to the financial award, each scholar will receive professional development opportunities, mentorship from public school educators and will participate in a statewide aspiring teachers network facilitated by the Raise Your Hand Texas Foundation.