Volleyball honored with several conference awards

OLLU, the Red River Athletic Conference regular-season champions, hosted a social event Friday evening to announce the 2020 Red River Athletic Conference (RRAC) All-Conference Team.

Capturing the Champions of Character award was freshman Megan Montalvo. Named to the All-Conference Honorable Mention Team were Amanda Esparza and Montalvo. The Second-Team honorees included Cassidy Haller, Tijana Kruta and Lauren Woitena.

The All-Conference First-Team selections included Sadie Ballesteros, Kalani Ketchens, Alyssa Marquez and Anissa Tamez – all repeat all-conference winners.

The Saints claimed five of the seven Players of the Year awards. Coach of the Year was Scott Mattera. Freshman of the Year was Haller, Tamez was Setter of the Year and Ketchens was the Front-Row Player of the Year. Four-year senior Tamez received the Player of the Year for the conference.

This season, second-year senior Ketchens tallied 119 kills in 283 total attacks for a hitting percentage of .258. Third-year senior Marquez added 136 digs for 4.12 digs per set. Freshman Haller had 50 kills on 121 attacks, 11 digs and seven total blocks. Four-year senior Tamez has 305 assists for 9.53 assists per game, 90 digs and eight assists.

Mattera is in his second season with the Saints. Last year, his team finished third in the conference and was a tournament finalist. He tallied a 19-7 overall record and 8-4 conference record. This year, his team had a perfect 6-0 conference record, and currently, the team is 11-1 overall.