Saints women win eighth RRAC cross-country championship

The women’s cross-country team has won its eighth Red River Athletic Conference (RRAC) Cross-Country Championships. The event took place Friday morning at the Culebra Creek Park in San Antonio.

The women’s team marked 29 points to win the 5k. The Saints were followed by Texas A&M University-Texarkana (TAMUT) with 43 points, Xavier University of Louisiana (XULA) with 94 points, Huston-Tillotson University (HTU) with 104 points, the University of the Southwest (USW) with 128 points and Jarvis Christian University (JCU) with 139 points.

Nadia Sifuentes captured her second consecutive Individual Medalist Award with a time of 19:00.8. Deandra Ibarra came in third place with a time of 19:10.9. Viridiana Zuniga finished in sixth place with a time of 20:03.4. Mia Curiel came in ninth place with a time of 20:33.4. Sierra Ramirez placed 10th with a time of 20:41.1. All five received All-Conference honors.

Other finishers were Robbie Sue Espericueta, who placed 11th with a time of 20:45.9. Kennedy Villalpando came in 12th place with a time of 20:50.2. Liliana Hernandez finished in 14th place with a time of 21:44.9 and Lindsey Broussard came in 15th place with a time of 21:49.5.

Deandra Ibarra was named Freshmen of the Year, and Head Coach Patrick Torres received Coach of the Year honors.  

The women’s team first won the conference meet in 2013 and repeated in 2015, 2016 and 2017. In 2018, the University of the Southwest captured the women’s title, with the Saints as runners-up. The Saints returned in 2019 to win and proceeded to capture the title in 2020 and 2021.

Seniors ceremony
After the event and awards ceremony, the university honored seniors Lindsey Broussard, Robbie Sue Espericueta and Nadia Sifuentes, as well as track and field’s Lauren Perry. Each talked about their plans and memories of their time at OLLU.

What’s next
The team will now prepare for the NAIA’s 48th Annual Women’s Cross-Country National Championship that will take place Nov. 18 in Tallahassee, Fla.