Saints men capture eighth straight RRAC cross-country conference championship

The men’s cross-country team has won its eighth consecutive Red River Athletic Conference (RRAC) Cross-Country Championship. The event took place Friday morning at the Culebra Creek Park in San Antonio.

The men’s team marked 24 points to win the 8k. The Saints were followed by Texas A&M University-Texarkana (TAMUT) with 44 points, Xavier University of Louisiana (XULA) wuth 81 points, Huston-Tillotson University (HTU) with 93 points, the University of the Southwest (USW) with 150 points and Jarvis Christian University (JCU) with 152 points.

Jose Zarate finished in second place for the Saints with a time of 25:28.4. Diego Moran came in fourth place with a time of 26:28.1. Jayden Turrubiates marked 26:36.2 for fifth place. Kruz Malesich came in sixth place with a time of 26:49.6. Hendrick Ramirez finished in seventh place with a time of 26:57.3. JoseCarlos Hernandez came in eighth place with a time of 27:10.6, followed by Jose Saucedo for ninth place with a time of 27:13.0. All seven were named to the All-Conference Team.

Other Saints finishers include: Sebastian Moreno – 27:31.6 and Robert Rios – 29:03.2.

Jayden Turrubiates was named Freshmen of the Year, and Head Coach Patrick Torres received Coach of the Year honors. 

What’s next
The Saints won the last seven titles dating back to 2015. The team will now prepare for the NAIA’s 67th Annual Men’s Cross-Country National Championship that will take place Nov. 18 in Tallahassee, Fla.