Tag Archives: Men's Cross-country

Jose Zarate named NAIA Scholar-Athlete

The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) released the 2022 Daktronics NAIA Men’s Cross-Country Scholar-Athletes on Monday. Jose Zarate has been selected from Our Lady of the Lake University (OLLU).

The 2022 list features student-athletes who achieved at least a 3.5 cumulative grade point average (GPA) at their institution. In order to be nominated by an institution’s head coach or sports information director, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, must appear on the eligibility certificate for the sport and have attended one full year at said institution.

Zarate earned a 3.5 as a graduate student-athlete.

Saints men capture eighth straight RRAC cross-country conference championship

The men’s cross-country team has won its eighth consecutive Red River Athletic Conference (RRAC) Cross-Country Championship. The event took place Friday morning at the Culebra Creek Park in San Antonio.

The men’s team marked 24 points to win the 8k. The Saints were followed by Texas A&M University-Texarkana (TAMUT) with 44 points, Xavier University of Louisiana (XULA) wuth 81 points, Huston-Tillotson University (HTU) with 93 points, the University of the Southwest (USW) with 150 points and Jarvis Christian University (JCU) with 152 points.

Jose Zarate finished in second place for the Saints with a time of 25:28.4. Diego Moran came in fourth place with a time of 26:28.1. Jayden Turrubiates marked 26:36.2 for fifth place. Kruz Malesich came in sixth place with a time of 26:49.6. Hendrick Ramirez finished in seventh place with a time of 26:57.3. JoseCarlos Hernandez came in eighth place with a time of 27:10.6, followed by Jose Saucedo for ninth place with a time of 27:13.0. All seven were named to the All-Conference Team.

Other Saints finishers include: Sebastian Moreno – 27:31.6 and Robert Rios – 29:03.2.

Jayden Turrubiates was named Freshmen of the Year, and Head Coach Patrick Torres received Coach of the Year honors. 

What’s next
The Saints won the last seven titles dating back to 2015. The team will now prepare for the NAIA’s 67th Annual Men’s Cross-Country National Championship that will take place Nov. 18 in Tallahassee, Fla.

Men’s cross-country finishes in fourth place at UIW Invitational

The Saints men’s cross-country team placed fourth in a field of 13 teams at the UIW Invitational sponsored by the University of the Incarnate Word.

Head Coach Patrick Torres commented, “There was some exceptional running at this meet, but we didn’t meet our expectations, That is on me. I’ve pushed the training a bit too hard and we’re seeing that in the results. We do have time though and a reset before conference and nationals is exactly what we need.”

Full team results for the men’s 8k are listed below:
UIW – 24 points

University of Texas – Rio Grande Valley – 73 points

University of Texas at San Antonio – 84 points

OLLU – 135 points

McMurry University – 146 points

Texas A&M International University – 151 points

Texas A&M University – Corpus Christi – 160 points

Huston-Tillotson University – 211 points

Trinity University – 243 points

Texas Lutheran University – 278 points

University of St. Thomas – 314

University of Mary Hardin-Baylor – 372 points

Sul Ross State University – 403 points

Leading the way for the Saints was Jose Zarata, who ran with a time of 25:30 for 12th place out of a slate of 126 runners. Jayden Turrubiates’ time was 26:11, followed by Diego Moran at 26:22, Hendrick Ramirez at 26:37, Kruz Malesich at 26:49, Nathaniel Rodriguez at 27:01, JoseCarlos Hernandez at 27:21, Sebastian Moreno at 27:39, Matthew Trevino at 29:07 and Robert Rios at 30:01.

What’s next
The Saints will get set to host the Saints Invitational on Oct. 7 at the Alamo Sportsplex, Culebra Creek Soccer Fields, in San Antonio.